In 2007, Ohio passed a law that put stricter restrictions on teen drivers under the age of 18. The law increased adult supervision for these drivers to limit the elevated risk they statistically pose to the public. Teen drivers also have a probationary period, during which they can improve driving skills and practice safe driving. After successfully making it through the probationary period, they can graduate to a license level that has fewer restrictions.
Temporary License in the State of Ohio
Drivers must be at least 15 years and six months old to apply for a temporary permit in Ohio and be able to provide their:
- Social security number
- Proof of age
- Proof of identity
To get this type of permit, the teen must also have written permission from his or her legal guardian or parent, who must provide valid identification as well. The final step in obtaining a temporary license is to take a vision and knowledge test.
Drivers Under 16 Years of Age
Before turning 16, teenagers can only drive with a certified driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian who possesses a valid license. After turning 16, they may receive a temporary permit. Anyone 21 years of age or older who has a valid license must sit in the front seat and accompany the teen driver during all commutes. The law also requires the permit holder to carry a photo identification card at all times.
While holding a temporary permit, the law requires teen drivers to complete a total of 24 hours of class instruction and 8 hours of driving instruction led by a certified driving instructor. Teen drivers must also complete at least 50 hours of driving practice. Of those 50 hours, the the teen must drive 10 of them at night. The legal guardian or parent of the permit holder must document these hours. After holding the driving permit for six months, the teen driver will be able to take the skills test to get his or her official Ohio Driver License.
Any driver under the age of 17 can only have one passenger who is not a part of their immediate family unless their legal guardian or parent is present as well.
Drivers between the ages of 17 and 18 cannot drive between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM, unless they have a legal guardian or parent present. There are three exceptions to this rule:
- When driving to or from a sanctioned school activity
- When driving to or from a place of employment (documentation from employer must be present)
- In emergency situations
Teen drivers and permit holders under 18 years of age cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM, unless accompanied by a legal guardian or a licensed parent.
If your teen driver was involved in a car accident, be sure to seek legal representation from a qualified attorney. Ohio Accident Attorneys has the resources to connect you with an experienced car accident lawyer in your area. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.